Get a Quote

How Does A Solar System Work?


Illustration of the components of a solar system

There are four main components of a solar system that are used to convert sunlight into electricity.


  1. Solar Panels - Solar panels convert sunlight into direct current (DC) electricity.
  2. Inverters - The DC electricity produced by the solar panels flows to the system's inverters. Inverters convert the DC electricity to alternating current (AC), which is the current that is used to energize the property.
  3. Distribution Panel - The AC flows from the inverters to the distribution panel. From there the electricity is sent into the building to be used. Excess electricity is sent to the utility grid.
  4. Electric Meter - The electric meter is used to measure the flow of electricity to and from the utility grid.


Want to learn more about how solar systems work? Check out our blog or send us a message!

Related Blogs